Kronos – Cathedral Museum and the ascent to Guercino’s dome at Piacenza Cathedral are accessible from the garden at Via Prevostura 7. The opening of the museum is recent and dates back to 3 July 2015.
The Kronos museum
The museum is divided into three levels: the ground floor houses the permanent exhibition, the second level is dedicated to temporary exhibitions and the third floor houses the Codex 65 and the archive section. Among the treasures on display is the Book of the Master (or Codex 65), an illuminated codex that is a model and treasure for the liturgy and constitutes a synthesis of medieval culture.
The exhibition offers other precious manuscripts, silverware, liturgical vestments and important altarpieces, sculptures and furnishings from the cathedral and other churches in the diocese.
Since 2018, the visiting experience has been enriched with multimedia installations. In addition to the rich itinerary of Kronos – Cathedral Museum, visitors also have the opportunity to climb the dome frescoed by Guercino. The ascent is via medieval paths cut into the thickness of the walls, spiral staircases and attics. This route allows breathtaking views of both the city and the interior of the cathedral.
The final stop on this walk is the loggia of the dome drum, where it is possible to admire at close quarters the cycle of frescoes painted by Giovanni Francesco Barbieri, known as Guercino, between 1626 and 1627.